Thinking before you pick up the camera…

How do you plan for a shoot? Every photographer has a different approach to preparing for a shoot. Some photographers go scout and some have consultations while some just wing it. I am usually the person that wings it. I usually plan the shoot around the evening when the sun is starting to set and then I usually just go up to the location and see what goes and what doesn’t. Recently I have wanted to be slightly more in control.

To prepare for this shot I asked one of my friends if he would be willing to help me with my portfolio. When he agreed I am not sure he knew what he was getting himself into. The next day I was looking at some of my photos that I had taken up on Owl Creek Pass and how I loved the black and white. That’s when I got this idea and I texted to see if he would bring a suit and his mountain bike.

I wanted to create a very stylish almost GQ shoot that featured one of his hobbies as well as this sophisticated classy look. Combining the elements of Chimney Rock and a mountain bike might be expected but to throw in the suit created a whole new level.

Granted some of the best shots happened by chance because a random horse happened to wander through the background at just the right time. However heading out I knew exactly what types of shots I wanted. I think that helped me showcase a stronger series of photo. There were no surprises it was just bringing my vision to life. Here are a few more photos from the shoot. (Probably one of my favorite shoots ever.)

Leave a comment